An Andy Schmidt Community website

Comic Book art

Past Faculty & Guests

  • Nick Lowe

    Nick Lowe is the editor of the X-Men line of comics for Marvel Comics. He often works with high profile talent on high profile projects like Neil Gaiman on both Marvel: 1602 and Eternals, Orson Scott Card on Ultimate Iron Man, Warren Ellis on Next Wave: Agents of H.A.T.E., and with Joss Whedon on both Runaways and the wildly successful Astonishing X-Men series.

  • Dwayne McDuffie

    Dwayne McDuffie was the co-creator of the Emmy Award-winning television series Static Shock!, and of Milestone Media, the most successful black-owned comic book company in history. A leading proponent of multiculturalism in media, Dwayne created dozens of characters for television, comics, and videogames. In television, he served as the story editor of Cartoon Network’s hit series, Ben 10: Alien Force, and the sequel series, Ben 10: Ultimate Alien. Dwayne was also a writer/producer for Warner Animation’s Justice League, and  Justice League Unlimited  animated series, and wrote episodes of What’s New, Scooby Doo?, Teen Titans, and Friends and Heroes. He did animation development work for Warner, Disney, Nickleodeon and Cartoon Network. Dwayne also wrote the script for the Warner Home Video feature, Crisis on Earth-2.

    Dwayne had written comics since 1987, when he created  Damage Control  for Marvel Comics. Later, he created or co-created more than a dozen series, including Deathlok II, Icon, Static, Xombi, The Road To Hell, and  Hardware. He wrote dozens of other comics including Justice League of America, The Fantastic Four, Spider-Man, Batman: Legends Of The Dark Knight, The Tick, Captain Marvel, The Avengers, Back To The Future, Hellraiser, Ultraman, (The Artist Formerly Known As) Prince, and X-O Manowar.

    Dwayne also wrote the scripts for two console videogames, Justice League Heroes and Green Lantern. He also wrote the script for the Static Shock  handheld game.

    Dwayne was a multiple Emmy and Eisner Award nominee, and was the winner of the Golden Apple Award for his “use of popular art to promote and enhance human dignity,” the 2003 Humanitas Prize for work that “affirms the dignity of the human person,” and the 2009 Inkpot Award.

    Dwayne died unexpectedly, at the age of 49, in February of 2011. He is greatly missed by all.

  • Stuart Moore

    Stuart Moore has been a writer, a book editor, and an award-winning comics editor. His recent writing includes Wolverine Noir, New Avengers/Transformers, and Iron Man (Marvel); the original science-fiction series PARA (Penny-Farthing Press) and Earthlight (Tokyopop);  Stargate Atlantis (Avatar); Firestorm and Detective Comics  (DC Comics); the multicultural superhero team The 99 (Teshkeel); Star Trek Alien Spotlight: Tribbles and Transformers Spotlight: Ramjet (IDW); the comics adaptation of the bestselling novel Redwall  (Philomel/Penguin); two volumes of the award-winning The Nightmare Factory (HarperCollins/Fox Atomic); Lone and The Escapist (Dark Horse); and the prose novels  American Meat and Reality Bites (Games Workshop). Upcoming projects include more X-Men and Transformers-related stories, and the original science-fiction/conspiracy drama Shadrach Stone (Penny-Farthing Press.)

    Stuart has also served as editor of the Virgin Comics / SciFi Channel comics line and of the bestselling Marvel Knights imprint. At DC Comics, Stuart was a founding editor of the acclaimed Vertigo imprint, where he won the Will Eisner award for Best Editor 1996 and the Don Thompson Award for Favorite Editor 1999. Stuart lives in Brooklyn, New York.

  • Fabian Nicieza

    Fabian Nicieza has been a well known figure in the American comic book industry for over 20 years, best known for his work on top-selling Marvel titles as X-Men, X-Force, New Warriors, Cable and Deadpool, and Thunderbolts. In 1991, along with Rob Leifield, he was responsible for the creation of X-Force. By the end of 1992, he had joined the team working on the X-Men series, and for the next three years was one of the main driving forces behind the characters and story lines. In 1996, Fabian joined Acclaim Comics as senior vice-president and editor-in-chief and was responsible for reviving characters like Turok: The Dinosaur Hunter. Currently, Fabian is writing for Marvel Comics, Moonstone Comics, Teshkeel Media and DC Comics, as well as working with Starlightrunner Entertainment on transmedia development for James Cameron’s 2009 feature, Avatar.

  • Khoi Pham

    Khoi Pham is an exclusive artist with Marvel Comics. His published work includes Scarlet Spider, The Mighty Avengers, The Incredible Hercules, X-Factor, What If? Spiderman: The Other, 1602: Fantastick Four, and Marvel Comics Presents. He is also featured in Image’s Wonderlost. Khoi is a founding member of Ten Ton Studios.

  • Chris Samnee

    Chris Samnee has drawn comics for Marvel, DC, Dark Horse, Vertigo and Oni Press. He is currently the artist on the monthly series Thor: The Mighty Avenger with writer Roger Langridge and the upcoming (in November) graphic novel Serenity: The Shepherd’s Tale with writers Joss and Zack Whedon. Chris lives in Portland, Oregon with his lovely wife, Laura and their happy cat, Scout. You can visit Chris online at